Sign up for Newsletter - Blog Talk Radio ShowsShows

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen - SPECIAL GUEST - WORLD OF INK NETWORK - BLOG TALK RADIO - FRIDAY APRIL 22 Live 2pm PST-3pm MST-4pm CST-5pm EST. - VS Grenier, Marsha Casper Cook, Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen

Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen never thought she’d grow up to be a writer. As a child, she thought of being a doctor (but she’s afraid of blood), a lawyer (but she doesn’t like losing arguments), a carpenter (but she’s too clumsy), a model (but she likes eating too much), a presidential candidate (but she had a dissolute youth), a UN ambassador (the argument losing thing again)… almost everything but a writer.

In fact, in 2001, Sudipta was well on her way to not being a writer. She had graduated from the California Institute of Technology in 1998 with a BS in Biology. From science to history to biography. Her first love, however, was always picture books, so using a facility with word play and a love for animals (especially pigs), Sudipta worked on a number of manuscripts. Using her science background as a springboard, Sudipta began writing nonfiction for children. She has now written 18 nonfiction books for kids, ranging from science to history to biography. Her first picture book, Tightrope Poppy, the High-Wire Pig, illustrated by Sarah Dillard, about a proud pig who perseveres was published in 2006. This was followed in 2007 by The Mine-o-saur, illustrated by David Clark, in 2008 by Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman’s Race for the Presidency, illustrated by Courtney Martin, and in 2009 by The Hog Prince, illustrated by Jason Wolff. Sudipta has seven other picture books scheduled for the next few years, including Pirate Princess, illustrated by Jill McElmurry, Half Pint Pete the Pirate, illustrated by Geraldo Valeria, and The Hampire, illustrated by Howard Fine.

Sudipta visits schools to share her stories and experience, and teaches writing to children and adults. She lives in New Jersey with her family and an imaginary pony named Penny. Join in on the fun and listen live.


the link for the live show or on demand - phone number for the live show is (714) 242-5259

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/worldofinknetwork/2011/04/22/the-writing-mama-with-hosts-vs-grenier-marsha-casper-cook